Purgatory Online

Monday, July 14, 2003

Sorry folks - I was wrong about the start time for the home run derby. MLB says it starts at 6:00 Eastern, which of course is 5:00 Central and 3:00 Pacific. Then again, it also says that's when coverage starts, and God only knows what kind of absurd wankfest we'll be treated to before they actually start.

Incidentally, the Futures Game was held yesterday, the U.S. team managing to beat the World team 3-2. Everything that needs to be said about MLB's shameful lack of promotion for this game can be found at Aaron's Baseball Blog today. Of the Angels prospects who made the game, catcher Jeff Mathis was a late-inning substitute and went 0-1 at the plate, while pitcher Ervin Santana did not play.

Home